Portsmouth residents warned about one common habit that puts you at risk of online theft
A cybersecurity expert has revealed a common mistake millions of online shoppers make that leaves them vulnerable to hackers and fraud. According to a YouGov study, one in five Brits have been a victim of bank fraud online, and with scammers becoming more and more advanced, shoppers need to be more vigilant than ever.


However, according to Frane Borozan, President of the Board at Syskit and Microsoft MVP, most people unknowingly expose themselves to cybercriminals every day by keeping their browser automatically signed into their accounts across multiple devices - a mistake that can be easily rectified and is far too common.
Online shoppers remain logged into accounts on shared computers and different browsers, making it simple for criminals to access personal information and banking details without needing to crack passwords.
Browser auto-login functions store your login information from your email to your password and keep you permanently signed in. This creates a significant security risk if anyone else uses your device or if it gets stolen.
When it comes to online shopping, most users never sign out of their accounts once logged in. This bad habit extends across work computers, personal laptops and mobile devices, creating multiple entry points for cybercriminals.
So what do you do?
Well, it’s simple really, it’s a case of ‘digital housekeeping’, when you stop online shopping, don’t just close your laptop and go on with your day, shut everything down and log out of everything like you would if you were leaving your workplace or your home.
Clear your browser data regularly
Your browser remembers everything – passwords, payment details, addresses, and browsing history. Criminals need only brief access to your device to steal this information, according to Borozan.
It’s recommended that you clear browser data at least weekly and manually signing out of sensitive accounts after each session. This simple practice drastically reduces vulnerability to identity theft and is too often overlooked.
Use private browsing mode for online shopping
If you’re worried that you’ll forget to log out of everything through habit then don’t allow yourself the chance to forget. Opt for private browsing which prevents storage of login details and automatically deletes browsing history when you close the window.
This feature prevents websites from tracking you across multiple visits and stops your login credentials from being stored within the browser. The setting exists in all major browsers including Chrome, Safari, Firefox and Edge.